Video Store Groteque

I walked (haughtily) out of a video store tonight, after the owner (‘comic book guy’) insulted me by assuring me that I’m the kind of guy who probably really loves “2 1/2 Men.”

This was meant to be an insult (and I suppose it was, sort of), as a means of defending the HBO series “Girls.”

“Girls” is a terrifying example of what now passes for art. You can look it up on Amazon and delight in the reviews, both positive and negative. I explained to comic-book-guy that the show was a painfully amateur exercise in feces-powered narcissism: “It’s like everybody I ever hated in my 20s was given a video camera and began filming each other at every moment of their liberal-arts drop-out lives.”

Which is about it. Western civ is now divided between screaming, bleating child-men and women (on the left); and on the right, reactive, reactionary hillbillies who’d rather shoot a Muslim than think about who runs the United States.

Or, something colorful like that. My apologies to the whacked-out liberals and hillbillies. I’ve been accused of being both, I think.

Also.

I’m almost done with my first comic about the world’s first group of vaccine-damaged superheroes. It’s ‘gear,’ as George Harrison used to say.

About Liam Scheff

"Author, Artist, Film, Permaculture." Liam Scheff is a writer, artist and stand-up lecturer on issues that people usually don't make comic books about. (Visit liamscheff.com). Liam's highly-praised book "Official Stories" reveals the complex details behind the myths of our times.
This entry was posted in S74 News and Events, Vaccines. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Video Store Groteque

  1. materx369 says:

    You couldn’t possibly be referring to the cinematic wonders that are Duck Dynasty Moonshiners could you Liam? I have, admittedly given them a slice, but a very small slice indeed, of my attention span, much like a car crash or a cow at an oncoming train… As for 2 1/2 Men, I was moderately entertained at times, but its current Incarnation is so pathetically predictable and devoid of essence that they should’ve served tigers blood in the mess hall…

    That said, I would’ve walked out too.

    Can’t wait for the comics! Peace!!! πŸ™‚

    • materx369 says:

      Just noticed a typo…
      Should have read “Duck Dynasty OR Moonshiners”…
      Aarrgh….grammatical errors by my Moriarty!

    • Liam Scheff says:

      No, no.. I looked at something called “Girls,” which is a walking lobotomy of defecating narcissism. But, you know. And yes, 2.5 Men had a moment where the madness of the real-life actor brought a certain honesty and appeal to the show. True!

Leave a Reply

